Pratyahara is the fifth limb of Yoga that focuses on the control of the five senses of sight, hearing, touch, smell and taste.

The Yogi withdraws from sensory perception and external stimuli to calm the mind and to focus inwardly.

Pratyahara is also considered to be the ‘bridge’ between the external limbs of Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama and the internal limbs of Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi. The withdrawal of the senses draws the practitioner inward into meditation and the inner journey.

I like to think of the five senses as five horses that need to be tamed in order to journey forward to the destination. And that destination being the inner path to samadhi.

Articles on Pratyahara

Recent articles and posts on Pratyahara.

Tuesday June 16, 2015 by Carlos Rull
Filed as: Yoga
ocean sunset
Sunday June 7, 2015 by Carlos Rull
Filed as: Travel

Note: Check back for more updates to this section.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.