Yama is the first limb of Yoga that focuses on the observance of moral and ethical values. Yama teaches us the essence of a universal moral code in which to live by, thus preparing our thoughts and actions for the practice of Yoga.

Yama contains within it five moral principles:

  • Ahimsa ~ the practice of compassion and non-violence.
  • Satya ~ the practice of truthfulness.
  • Asteya ~ the practice of non-stealing.
  • Brahmacharya ~ the practice of sexual abstinence.
  • Aparigraha ~ the practice of non-possessiveness.

Recent articles and posts on Yama.
Raw Vegan Sandwich
Tuesday January 13, 2015 by Carlos Rull
Filed as: Vegan
Organic Gardening
Sunday December 7, 2014 by Carlos Rull
Filed as: Transcend

Monday September 22, 2014 by Carlos Rull
Filed as: Yoga

Thursday January 17, 2013 by Carlos Rull
Filed as: Nutrition, Yoga

Saturday July 22, 2006 by Carlos Rull
Filed as: Yoga

Note: Check back for more updates to this section.

7 thoughts on “Yama

  • Tuesday August 25, 2015 at 3:16 pm

    If you want to know the basic form I think it’s Padmasana’. But my opinion about yoga is wvetaher your age is, don’t practice Yoga without an instructor. You see you can do the basics and the Pranayams like Kapalvati’ and Anulom Bilom’ all you want in a daily manner, but you should never do the other derived yogas which are restricted for people with certain physical problems. It may harm you. so do it under proper guidance. Good Luck!!!!

    • Monday September 11, 2017 at 8:44 am

      thank you for your kind advice… i have been going to yoga instructors now, and getting good advice on techniques, which enhance my home practice. but if i can find a proper guru/yogi who can teach me proper pranayama technique i will do it, yes i agree with what you say.

  • Thursday September 3, 2015 at 7:18 am

    If I were a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle, now I’d say “Kowabunga, dude!”

  • Thursday September 3, 2015 at 11:51 am

    Great common sense here. Wish I’d thought of that.

  • Tuesday September 29, 2015 at 10:58 am

    That’s a well-thought-out answer to a challenging question

  • Thursday October 1, 2015 at 3:28 am

    That’s really thinking at a high level

  • Wednesday October 7, 2015 at 2:29 am

    Glad I’ve finally found something I agree with!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.